Learning dialysis

Today I spent the morning learning to use the peritoneal dialysis technique, which involves masks, soap, alcohol soap, clean tables,and weighing the volume of liquid that goes in and out, waiting, checking blood pressure and weight, emptying the liquid and checking how much, filling up again, and then waiting more before finally emptying again.
The nurses are very kind and patient, as are the other patients who swap stories and add encouragement. I don’t feel so alone anymore.

Its not painful and I think I getting the hang of it all. Tomorrow I’ll learn the cycler and the automatic method.

The stitches are out now and my scar is healing, and I can change the dressing myself.

I’m a bit tired, so I’ll leave it there.

Leave a Reply

