He who pays the piper calls the tune

I paid the piper, paid him with my sweat,

Paid him with my bitter tears,

Paid him with regret,

Paid him him with my blood,

Paid him with my gut,

Paid him with every aching sinew,

Paid him with my love,

Yes, I paid the piper,

But I didn’t call the tune,

Didn’t tell him what to play,

Didn’t catch the moon,

Yes I paid the piper,

But he simply forgot,

Didn’t see my fearful face,

Didn’t cut the knot,

He carried on his pace

Yes, I paid the piper,

Paid him fair and square,

Paid him with my body

I paid him with my share,

We all pay the piper, but he never stops,

Never listens to our suffering, never hears our sobs.

Yes I paid the piper,

It was he who won the war,

Didn’t see the team behind,

Fighting for the draw,

I paid the piper,

With every days commands,

Watching as the children die

In the bitter sands,

We all pay the piper,

And we’ll never stop,

Enchanted by his crazy tune,

We’ll only drink his sops,

We all pay the piper,

His hat is always full,

Toss your talents at the brim,

See them glinting, how very grim

Listen to the piper

His tune demands.

Or walk away from piper’s screams,

Walk to reason’s empty dreams,

When every man has fought and faded,

The piper’s tune will just sound jaded.

Leave a Reply

